Youth Open Lead 2019 at the Big Depot Leeds

What an excellent weekend of energy and excitement. 124 young competitors descended on Big Depot Leeds for the Youth Open Lead Climbing competition 2019!

Volume-tastic transitions and tricky arete pulling start moves ensured the competitors needed to pull out all the stops during qualification just to be in with a chance of making it through to the finals. The route setting team, Gavin Symonds, Max Ayrton and Legend Andy Long, lead by Chief Yann Genoux, had pulled out all the stops with some excellent test pieces.

This year, with the excellent increase in competitior numbers, the battle for those final spots was intense and all competitors put in fantastic efforts throughout the entire day.

Special thanks goes to: Mark for his scoring prowness, the route setting team for their hard work and excellent routes, all the volunteers who helped Judge and Belay on the day- without them the competition would simply not run!

The competitors, for their awesome performances.

Big Depot Leeds: Rik and his team were excellent and nothing was too much trouble! Thanks for hosting us at such short notice.


big depot leeds logo1.png

Elias Bignold, for giving us permission to use some of his excellent photos.

Finally, our sponsors, Petzl, for the fantastic prizes supplied!


Looking forward to seeing you all at the Junior British Bouldering Championships in June! Registration will open at the end of the month!

Full Competition Results can be found here

Junior Category

Screenshot 2019-05-27 at 13.12.27.png

1. Kieran Forrest
2. Sam Butterworth
3. Aidan Dunne

1. Gwyneth Uttley
2. Zoe Peetermans
3. Thea Cameron

Youth A Category

Screenshot 2019-05-27 at 13.12.31.png

1. Hamish McArthur
2. Daniel Smith
3. Robert Cook

1. Ruby Wood
2. Katherine MacDougall
3. Hannah Smith

Youth B Category

Screenshot 2019-05-27 at 13.12.37.png

1. Jack MacDougall
2. Joseph Xiberras
3. Toby Roberts

1. Louise Flockhart
2. Hannah Kerr
3. Tilly Vasic

Youth C Category

Screenshot 2019-05-27 at 13.12.42.png

1. Yukio Makita
2. Rhys Conlon
3. Kishan Fillingham

1. Anya Hmaimou
2. Aether Blake
3. Molly Maugham

Ben Lampkin